Presentations & Summaries »

Agenda »

Capitol Ideas Today »




Transmission Line Siting Compact

2:30-4 p.m. Dec. 2


The siting of interstate electricity transmission lines has long been a problem for both states and the federal government. With the expected growth in electricity demand—combined with the need to bring renewable energy to market and the necessity to enhance and secure the nation’s energy infrastructure—the need for added transmission capacity in the United States has never been more critical. Learn more about a member-driven initiative aimed at improving the siting process through common applications, pre-determined timelines and coordinated publichearings during this session. This new compact will be ready for legislative introduction beginning in 2013. Subject matter experts will discuss the need for the compact, the development process and specific areas covered by the new interstate agreement.


Confirmed Speakers


North Dakota Rep. Kim Koppelman, Co-Chair
Full bio>>








Kansas Rep. Tom Sloan, Co-Chair
Full bio>>









Washington Rep. Jeff Morris
Full bio>>








Bill Smith
Executive Director of the Organization of MISO States
Full bio>>





Rep. Kim Koppelman
Koppelman has represented District 13 in theNorth Dakota House of Representatives since 1994. Heis chair of the Constitutional Revision and Administrative Rules Committees and has held several otherleadership positions, including vice chair of theJudiciary and Administrative Rules Committees. He also serves on the Judiciary and Political Subdivisions Committees and the Judicial Planning Committee. He served as the 2008 CSG national chair. Back to speakers.
Rep. Tom Sloan
Rep. Sloan was first elected to the Kansas House in 1994. He has served as chair of the Special Joint Committee on Energy, chair of the Higher Education Committee, vice chair of the Utilities Committee, and vice chair of the Government Efficiency and Technology Committee.He has served as chairman of two Discussion Groups on Electric Transmission Issues at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) and is the only state legislative member of the U.S. Department of Energy’s 30-member Electricity Advisory Committee. Back to speakers.
Rep. Jeff Morris
Rep. Morris was first elected to the House of Representatives in 1996. He has served as speaker pro tempore, House floor leader, eight years as chair of the Technology, Energy and Communications Committee and chair of Finance.  As Principal of Energy Horizon LLC, Jeff directs the Pacific Northwest Economic Region’s Energy Portfolio and consults for energy companies on commercialization and project development. Jeff is the past director of the Northwest Energy Technology Collaborative at the Washington Technology Center. Back to speakers.
Bill Smith
Smith began as executive director of the Organization of MISO States in January 2004. Previously, he was government relations manager for the Iowa Utilities Board, and coordinated the Board’s legislative positions and its representation before federal agencies. He earlier directed the Board’s rate and safety staff. Before 1986, Smith served as a legal advisor to commissioners of the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission and practiced energy law in a Washington, D.C. firm. Back to speakers.