CSG Leadership


CSG Committees

CSG Governance


CSG Regional Offices




Employment Opportunities


about csg

Governors Association

Midwestern Governors Association

The Midwestern Governors Association (MGA) is a nonprofit, bipartisan organization that brings together top state leaders to work cooperatively on public policy issues of significance to the Midwestern region. The MGA was created in December 1962, when articles of organization were adopted at the first annual meeting in Chicago. The members of our association include the governors of the following 13 Midwestern states: Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin. More infromation »


Southern Governors' Association

Founded in 1934, SGA is the oldest and historically the largest of the regional governors' associations. Since its first meeting 71 years ago to discuss the repeal of discriminatory rates for transporting goods by rail, the Southern Governors' Association has represented the common interests of Southern states' chief executives and provided a vehicle for promoting them. The ongoing mission of SGA is to support the work of the governors by providing a bipartisan, regional forum to help shape and implement national policy and to solve state and regional problems.
SGA pursues this mission by coordinating regionally collaborative initiatives, tracking and analyzing federal legislation and regulations of interest to the Southern states, advocating before Congress and the executive branch the Southern governors' policy agenda as expressed through approved policy resolutions and by convening meetings for governors and their staffs. The association's membership is composed of the governors of Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Virginia and West Virginia. More infromation »