CSG Leadership


CSG Committees

CSG Governance


CSG Regional Offices




Employment Opportunities


press room
Contact CSG Media Relations
(859) 244-8246
July 30, 2019 

CSG Selects 2019 Toll Fellowship Class

LEXINGTON, Ky.—Forty-eight state leaders from across the country have been selected to participate in The Council of State Governments’ 2019 Henry Toll Fellowship, the nation’s premier leadership development program for state government officials.
The members of the Class of 2019 hail from 33 states and represent all three branches of state government. A committee of program alumni reviewed applications and selected the class.
For more than 30 years, the CSG Henry Toll Fellowship—named for CSG founder Henry Wolcott Toll—has convened a group of the nation’s top officials in Lexington, Kentucky, for an intensive six-day, five-night intellectual boot camp. The 2019 program will be held Aug. 23-27.
The program's agenda includes a lineup of dynamic sessions designed to stimulate personal assessment and growth, while providing networking and relationship-building opportunities. Each year's program is unique, but previous programs have included sessions on leadership personality assessment, media training, crisis management, appreciative inquiry and adaptive leadership.
“The CSG Henry Toll Fellowship recognizes outstanding state leaders with a demonstrated passion for public service," said CSG Executive Director/CEO David Adkins, who was a 1993 Toll Fellow when he served as a Kansas state representative. "The program is designed to expand leadership skills and empower the fellows to navigate complex public policy challenges more effectively. This year’s class of fellows will sharpen their ability to collaborate and communicate, to develop innovative solutions and advance the common good.”

Members of the CSG 2019 Toll Fellows Class by state are:
Alaska: Rep. Matthew W. Claman;Rep. Louise Stutes
Arizona: Sen. Sean Bowie
Arkansas: Rep. David Whitaker
Colorado: Rep. Sonya Jaquez Lewis
Connecticut: Rep. Geraldo Reyes Jr.; Rep. Cristin McCarthy Vahey
Delaware: Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman; Jordan W. Seemans, Legislative Liaison, Office of the Governor
Georgia: Rep. Park Cannon; Rep. Scott Holcomb; Rep. Kim Schofield
Hawaii: Sen. Gil Riviere
Idaho: Rep. Jason Arthur Monks
Indiana: Sen. Michael Crider
Iowa: Rep. Shannon Lundgren
Kansas: Rep. Brenda S. Dietrich; Rep. Jarrod Ousley
Kentucky: Tommy Druen, Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Speaker
Louisiana: Sen. Regina A. Barrow; Rep. Stephen C. Dwight
Maine: Rep. Shawn Babine; Sen. Matt Pouliot
Maryland: Chas Eby, Deputy Executive Director, Emergency Management Agency
Massachusetts: Rep. Joan Meschino
Michigan: Sen. Adam Hollier
Minnesota: Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn; Hon. Jamie Cork, Judge, District Court
Nebraska: Sen. Tony Vargas
Nevada: Assemblyman Steve Yeager
New Hampshire: Rep. Erin Hennessey
New York: Jordan A. Lesser, Legal Counsel, Assembly; Sen. S. Elizabeth Lockman
North Dakota: Hon. Cherie Clark, Judge, Southeast Judicial District; Rep. Brandy L. Pyle
Ohio: Hon. Gene A. Zmuda, Judge, Sixth District Court of Appeals
Oklahoma: Rep. Rhonda Baker; Rep. Cyndi Munson
Oregon: Rep. Daniel Bonham; Nia Ray, Director, Department of Revenue
Pennsylvania: Rep. Donna Oberlander
South Dakota: Shawnie Rechtenbaugh, Cabinet Secretary, Department of Human Services
Tennessee: Sen. Ed Jackson; Sen. Kerry Roberts
Utah: Sen. Todd Weiler
Vermont: Rep. Robin Scheu
Washington: Rep. Mia Su-ling Gregerson; Sen. Ann Rivers


The Council of State Governments is our nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.