CSG Leadership


CSG Committees

CSG Governance


CSG Regional Offices




Employment Opportunities


press room
Contact CSG Media Relations
(859) 244-8246
March 24, 2015

CSG's Adkins Named Chair of the Big 7

LEXINGTON, Ky.---David Adkins, executive director/CEO of The Council of State Governments, has been named chair of the Big 7. This is the first time a CSG director has led the group.

The Big 7 is a group of nonpartisan, nonprofit organizations that represent state and local governments. In addition to CSG, the group is comprised of the International City-County Management Association, National Association of Counties, National League of Cities, National Conference of State Legislatures, National Governors Association and U.S. Conference of Mayors.

"State and local governments can accomplish more together when they speak with one voice," Adkins said. "The Big 7 provides a collegial and cooperative environment for all of the participating organizations and I very much look forward to working with all my colleagues to advance solutions for many of the challenges we share."

Executive directors of the Big 7 member organizations meet regularly to discuss issues of importance to state and local governments. The group submits joint letters to Congress about pending legislation that could impact state and local governments to present a unified position.

The Council of State Governments is our nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.