Hotel Information


Exhibit Hall

Sponsorship Opportunities

Regional Meetings

Conference Calendar

Past Meetings

Important Dates


Follow CSG Annual09
on Twitter for Updates!

Spring Meeting '09 Summaries



Justice Matters: Insights from the Bench

A discussion on the future of fair & impartial state courts

Friday, November 13 | 11 a.m. –12:30 p.m.



Bill Vickrey | Administrative Director, California Administrative Office of the Court



sue bell cobbSue Bell Cobb | Chief Justice Panel

Henry Toll Fellows Class of 2006
Sue Bell Cobb took office as chief justice of the Supreme Court of Alabama in 2007 after serving 12 years on the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.
Cobb graduated from the University of Alabama School of Law in 1981. As soon as she was admitted to the bar, she was appointed district judge of Conecuh County becoming one of the state’s youngest judges. She was elected twice to that position. She was appointed to serve as an alternate chief judge on the Court of the Judiciary in 1997, and was elected to the court of appeals in 1994.
Cobb received 1996 Public Citizen of the Year award from the Alabama Chapter of the National Social Workers Association, the 1996 NAACP Political Achievement Award from the Conecuh County Branch of the NAACP, the 1995 Montgomery Advertiser Woman of Achievement Award and the 1992 Judicial Conservationist Award of the Alabama Wildlife Federation. She was recently named State Winner of the Bishop Barron State Employee Public Service Award.


mintonJohn D. Minton Jr. | Chief Justice Panel

John D. Minton Jr. was sworn in as Kentucky’s fifth chief justice June 27, 2008 after serving two years as a justice on the state Supreme Court.
Minton, who graduated from the University of Kentucky College of Law in 1977, was appointed to the court in July 2006 after a judge retired and was then elected to an eight-year term in November 2006 to represent the Second Supreme Court District, which is comprised of 14 counties in western Kentucky. He had previously served on the Kentucky Court of Appeals, and before that served as a circuit court judge in Warren County, Ky., where he served as chief regional judge of the Green River Region.
The Kentucky Bar Association honored Minton with its Outstanding Judge Award in 2003. He led efforts to form the Warren County Drug Court while a circuit judge and was actively involved in continuing judicial education as a longtime member of the Education Committee of the Kentucky Circuit Judges Association.


Paul J. De Muniz | Chief Justice Panel

Paul J. De Muniz joined the Oregon Supreme Court in January 2001 and became Oregon's 41st Chief Justice on Jan. 1, 2006. In 2008, he was elected to the board of directors of the Conference of Chief Justices, and is one of eight state chief justices selected to attend a three-year Harvard University Executive Session to study the role of state court leaders.
De Muniz, who graduated from the Willamette University College of Law, has also served on the Judicial Fitness and Disability Commission and the Supreme Court Access to Justice for All Committee. In 2002, he founded a now-flourishing rule-of-law partnership with judicial leaders in Russia's Far East.


Shirley S. Abrahamson | Chief Justice Panel

Shirley S. Abrahamson has served as chief justice of the Wisconsin Supreme Court since 1996. She was the first woman to serve on the court when she was first appointed to the Supreme Court in 1976.
Abrahamson, who graduated from the Indiana University Law School, also served as a professor at the University of Wisconsin Law School. She is a past president of the National Conference of Chief Justices and past chair of the board of directors of the National Center for State Courts. She also served as chair of the National Institute of Justice's National Commission on the Future of DNA Evidence.
The National Center for State Courts in 2009 gave her the Harry L. Carrico Award for Judicial Innovation for serving as a national leader in safeguarding judicial independence, improving inter-branch relations, and expanding outreach to the public. She received the American Judicature Society's Dwight D. Opperman Award for Judicial Excellence in 2004.