What are CSG Innovations Awards?  InnovationsMedallion


CSG began presenting Innovations Awards in 1986 to bring greater visibility to exemplary state programs and to facilitate the transfer of those successful experiences to other states.


How do states submit a program for consideration?


Review the criteria for consideration to determine if a program in your state is eligible for an Innovations Award. Then download, complete, and submit an application to CSG by the annual deadline.

Criteria for consideration: 


How are state programs selected for an award?


CSG receives hundreds of applications for Innovations Awards every year. CSG policy experts review the applications and select the finalists. Regional panels of state officials evaluate the finalists and select two award-winners within each CSG region.


How are the awards presented?


The winning programs are traditionally recognized in a ceremony during CSG's Annual Meeting. In addition, the winners are showcased in CSG's national magazine, Capitol Ideas.


History and Award Winning Examples